Chhattisgarh records 27.29 pc turnout till 1100 hrs

Raipur, Apr 23  :  Around 27.29 per cent voter turnout was recorded during the first four hours in seven Lok Sabha seats of Chhattisgarh in the third phase of polling on Tuesday.

Polling is underway on peaceful note in Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg, Janjgir, Korba, Raigarh and
Sarguja Lok Sabha seats amid tight security arrangements.

The polling will conclude at 1700 hrs. Reports have poured in from all seven constituencies about enthusiasm among the voters towards exercising their franchise.
Long queues of people could be seen since morning at polling centres in the capital Raipur. Braving
scorching heat, electorates have come to polling centres in large number to cast their votes.
Reports about EVM faults have also been received from several parts of the capital but polling was resumed immediately with replacement of faulty EVMs.
About 123 candidates are in fray in all these seats.
According to Chief Electoral Officer, maximum 25 candidates were contesting elections in Raipur and Bilaspur seats each whereas 14 candidates are in fray in Raigarh, 13 in Korba, 15 in Janjgir-Champa, 21 in Durg and minimum 10 candidates are contesting elections in Sarguja seat.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *