Apni Party announces candidates for two Lok Sabha seats

 Fields Zaffar Iqbal Manhas for Anantnag–Rajouri and Mohammad Ashraf Mir for Srinagar parliamentary constituencies

Srinagar, Apr 4: Apni Party on Tuesday announced its candidates for the two parliamentary constituencies. The party declared the candidature of its Vice President, Zaffar Iqbal Manhas, for the Anantnag–Rajouri parliamentary constituency, and Mohammad Ashraf Mir, the party’s Provincial President of Kashmir, for the Srinagar constituency.

The announcement was made during a press conference at the party headquarters in Srinagar today. The party’s Parliamentary Committee Chairman, Mohammad Dilawar Mir, who was flanked by senior party leaders, including the nominated candidates, addressed the press conference.

He said, “The party leadership has unanimously decided on the candidacy of party senior leader and Vice President Zaffar Iqbal Manhas for the Anantnag–Rajouri constituency, and the party’s Provincial President for Kashmir, Mohammad Ashraf Mir, for the Srinagar constituency.”

Replying to a question, Dilawar Mir said, “The party has not yet decided about the Baramulla parliamentary constituency. Since the constituency is scheduled for polls in the final phase of the election, there is no need to rush the decision.”

When asked why the party did not field any candidate in Jammu province, Mohammad Dilawar Mir said, “The fact of the matter is that Apni Party does not possess sufficient strength in the Jammu province required to contest an election. Therefore, we have decided to shift our focus solely to the valley.”

The prominent party leaders who were present during the press conference, included the party’s Senior Vice President Ghulam Hassan Mir, Vice President Zaffar Iqbal Manhas, Vice President Javaid Mustafa Mir, General Secretary Rafi Ahmad Mir, Provincial President Mohammad Ashraf Mir, Additional General Secretary Hilal Ahmad Shah, Senior Leader and Former Mayor of Srinagar Junaid Azim Mattu, Media Advisor Farooq Andrabi, Chief Coordinator and District President Kulgam Abdul Majeed Paddar, District President Kupwara Raja Manzoor, District President Anantnag Abdul Rahim Rather, and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *