Elections in 5 states in February-March

Elections in 5 states in February-March











New Delhi, Jan 8 :  The Election Commission on Saturday announced that Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur will be held between February 10 and March 7 and their votes will be counted on March 10.

Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra said polling will be held in seven phases in Uttar Pradesh, in two phases in Manipur and on a single day in Goa, Uttarakhand and Punjab.

The elections in Uttar Pradesh will take place on February 10, 14 , 20, 23, 27, March 3 and 7.

Manipur will go to the polls on February 27 and March 3. Goa, Uttarakhand and Punjab will vote on February 14.

The counting of votes will be held on March 10, Chandra said.

Due to Covid-19, Chandra announced a ban on road shows, padyatras, cycle and bike rallies and procession till January 15. Physical rallies, when permitted, shall be done with adherence to Covid norms.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *