With no LF candidate, Adhir may romp home from Baharampur LS with ease

Baharampur, Apr 5  : With the Left Front refraining putting up any candidate, it might be a cakewalk for the Bemgal Congress’ most trusted soldier Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, who has been maintaining his winning streak since 1999 from Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency.An electorate of more than 1.6 million will exercise their franchise here in the fourth phase of polls on April 29.
Baharampur Parliamentary constituency is one of West Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha seats formed in 1951.
Baharampur was once the stronghold of the RSP which won seven consecutive terms here between 1952 and 1980 with Tridib Chaudhuri winning all of them.
Atish Chandra Sinha won as a Congress candidate for the first time in 1984 but the RSP was back to winning five consecutive terms again between 1989 and 1999.
Former union minister of state for Railways and former West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee (WBPCC) president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has held the Baharampur Lok Sabha seat since 1999 when he defeated Promothes Mukherjee of the RSP.
This time Congress has fielded Adhir Chowdhury from this constituency once again who is pitted against, ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Apurba Sarkar and BJP candidate Krishna Juardar Arya. Left Front has not given any candidate here so far.
The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from Congress– Adhir Chowdhury emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating the TMC candidate –famous singer Indranil Sen by a margin of 3,56,567 votes.
In the previous Lok Sabha elections, Congress candidate Adhir Chowdhury got 5,83,549 votes, Trinamool Congress candidate Indranil Sen got 2,26,982 votes. The RSP finished third in the table with its candidate Pramothes Mukherjee got 2, 25,699 votes and BJP candidate Debesh Kumar Adhikary finished fourth with 81,656 votes
The Congress got 50.54 per cent vote share while the TMC got 19.69 per cent. The RSP received 19.54 per cent of vote share and the BJP 7.07 per cent.
As per the Election Commission data in 2019, total number of electorate in Baharampur Lok Sabha seat is 16,30,510 of which 8,36, 021 are male, 7,94, 449 female and 40 third genders voters. A total number of 1844 polling stations would be set up for voting.
As per order of the Delimitation Commission in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, parliamentary constituency no. 10 Baharampur is composed of the seven assembly segments such as Burwan, Kandi, Bharatpur, Rejinagar, Beldanga, Baharampur and Naoda.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *