LS polls : Nomination for fourth phase commences in UP

Lucknow, Apr 2 : With campaigning for the first three phases underway in Uttar Pradesh, Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday notified the fourth phase of polls in the state in 13 Lok Sabha seats.
According to EC sources here, after the issuance of the notification this morning at 1100 hours the nominations for 13 seats has commenced. The polling for the fourth phase would be held on April 29 between 0700 hours to 1800 hrs.
The nominations would continue till April 9 while on the next day, scrutiny of papers would be done. The candidates could withdraw their nominations till April 12.
Along with 13 Lok Sabha seats, by-election to Nighasan assembly seat in Kheri will also be held in this phase due to death of a sitting BJP member.
The Lok Sabha seats going to polls in phase four are Shahjahanpur, Kheri, Hardoi, Mishrik, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah,Kannauj,Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun, Jhansi and Hamirpur.
There are a total of 2,38,88,367 voters in this phase with male voters account to 1,29,75,125 , female– 1,09,12,012 and third gender are 1230. There are a total of 27,513 polling booths in this phase.
The prominent candidates in this phase are SP candidate Dimple Yadav, wife of SP president Akhilesh Yadav from Kannauj, Congress candidate Salman Khurshid from Farrukhabad and former Union minister Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *