Kiwis win toss, opt to bowl first

Birmingham, :  New Zealand won the toss and opted to bowl first against South Africa in the 25th World Cup match at Edgbaston, Birmingham here on Wednesday.
The toss was earlier delayed by an hour due to wet outfield and the game had to reduced to a 49-over contest.
New Zealand started their World Cup campaign with three consecutive wins before their match against India ended in a wash-out at Trent Bridge.
The Kiwi bowlers have been in prime form — restricting the opposition to a below-par total on every occasion, making things easier for the batsmen.
The middle-order, which failed considerably against Bangladesh before Mitchell Santner finished the job, will be put to a stiff test against South Africa.
While South Africa which was destabilised after three consecutive defeats, put on a complete performance to register a nine-wicket win over Afghanistan in their last game.
Both teams would face much stiffer challenge when they take on each other on Wednesday.
Stakes would be high for South Africa as they need to win this match to keep their hopes alive in the World Cup.
Lungi Ngidi has been declared match fit after he missed last three games due to hamstring injury and will replace Beuran Hendricks in the playing XI.
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor
South Africa: Faf du Plessis (c), Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *