Maiden session of 17th Lok Sabha gets underway with members taking oath

New Delhi, :  The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha got underway here on Monday with the newly elected members taking oath as members of the House.
Protem Speaker Virendra Kumar administered the oath to the new lawmakers.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is the Leader of the House, was the first to take oath.
Mr Modi took oath in Hindi. Then the three members of the panel of chairman Kodikunnil Suresh (Congress), Bhatruhari Mahtab (BJD) and Brijbhushan Sharan Singh (BJP) took oath.
Mr Mahtab took his oath as member of the House in Odiya.
This was followed by Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari and others.
Mr Modi’s oath taking was greeted by members with thumping of desks and raising of ‘Modi Modi’ slogan.
Before the session began Mr Modi earlier greeted members and also came to the opposition bench and greeted among others former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, National Conference leader Dr Faorooq Abdullah and Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav.
As the House assembled to begin the day’s proceedings, Protem Speaker Virendra Kumar complimented all the newly elected members.
He said he is confident that the members would discharge their duties responsibly and assured cooperation from the Chair.
The Secretary General of Lok Sabha Snehlata Shrivastava laid down the list of newly elected MPs.
There was thumping of desks including by Prime Minister among others in the treasury bench when Union Women and Child Development Smriti Irani took oath as member of the House.
Ms Irani wrested the traditional Congress bastion Amethi in UP from Congress president Rahul Gandhi.
Union Ministers Dr Harsh Vardhan, Ashwini Kumar Choubey and Shripad Naik took oath in Sanskrit.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *