25pc voter turnout in peaceful polling in Assam till noon

Guwahati, Apr 11 :  Twenty-five per cent voter turnout has been recorded so far in Assam, where polling is being held for five constituencies in the first phase of the three-phase election in the state.

Tezpur constituency has recorded the highest turnout in the first four hours of polling at 28pc, while Kaliabor and Lakhimpur have recorded 22pc each and Jorhat and Dibrugarh 21pc each.
Reports of malfunction of EVMs at places have been received, but polling was progressing peacefully in most places.
ECI officials here said the final figures of malfunctioning or replacement of EVMs will be compiled and made available after the close of voting.
Officials have rushed to polling stations from where problems in EVMs have been received.
Long queues were seen in front of most of the polling stations even before voting started at 0700 hours, with clear weather encouraging voter turnout. Voting will end at 1600 hours in the state.
Among those who have already cast their vote is CM Sarbananda Sonowal, former CM Tarun Gogoi
of Congress, sitting Kaliabor MP Gaurav Gogoi of Congress, sitting Lakhimpur MP Pradan Baruah of BJP, former union minister and Dibrugarh Congress candidate Paban Singh Ghatowar and state minister and Jorhat BJP candidate Topon Kumar Gogoi.
Altogether 41 candidates, including two women, are in the fray for Lakhimpur, Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat and Dibrugarh seats, spread in the eastern and northern parts of the state.
Polling is being conducted at 9574 polling stations, which include 201 all-women polling stations and 225 model polling stations.
Altogether 180 companies of security forces have been deployed, and minimum one constable attached to every polling station.
As many as 42126 polling personnel have been engaged for first phase poll and 614 micro observers appointed.
Total of 151 flying squads is keeping vigil, along with 137 static surveillance teams and 118 video surveillance teams.
The total elector strength is 7603458, of which 3737970 are female and 154 are of the third gender.
The BJP had won four of the seats in 2014 General Elections, while one was bagged by Congress.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *